2022-2023 Blaze Band Award Winners

MID-STATE AND ALL-STATE RECOGNITION

9-10 Mid State Silver Band

Will Foster, Percussion Cierra Schmidt, Bb Clarinet Ellie Sugden-Kundar, Trumpet Bruce Myers, Euphonium Janie Whitaker, Tuba

9-10 Mid State Gold Band

Freddie Brock, Contra Bass Clarinet Sofia Bonillo, Bb Clarinet Jenna Lynn Anderson, Trumpet

11-12 Mid State Silver Band Megan Hickman, Horn J. Mike Oshop, Horn Andrew Reed, Alto Saxophone

11-12 Mid State Gold Band

Rielly Harris, Trombone Chloe Schmidt, Bb Clarinet Keegan Scott, Bb Trumpet Isabella Smythe, Horn

9-12 Mid State Silver Jazz Band

J. Mike Oshop, Jazz Trumpet

9-12 Mid State Gold Jazz Band

Rielly Harris, Jazz Trombone Zach McBroom, Jazz Bari Saxophone Andrew Reed, Jazz Alto Saxophone

All State Band

Freddie Brock, Contra Bass Clarinet Rielly Harris, Trombone Zach McBroom, Jazz Bari Saxophone Chloe Schmidt, Bb Clarinet Keegan Scott, Trumpet

DIRECTORS AWARDS

Musicianship

Woodwinds: Sofia Bonillo and Kara Perkins Brass: Jenna Lynn Anderson and William DePaul Symphonic Band: James Bush and Ellie Sugden-Kundar Percussion: Ella Cox and Emily Monson Jazz Ensemble: Zach McBroom and Andrew Reed Wind Ensemble: Kathrine Adair, Rielly Harris, Chloe Schmidt, and Keegan Scott

Special Awards

Special Recognition for Senior Percussionists: Mason Collins, Ella Cox, Josh Dees, Isacc Griffis, Zeth Johnson, Kennedi Maxwell, and Emily Monson, Director's Award: Andrew Reed and Keegan Scott Nick Cucerzan Service Award: Alex Campbell Louis Armstrong Jazz Award: Zach McBroom John Philip Sousa Award: Rielly Harris

Most Improved

Woodwinds: Jada Sanders Brass: Amira Hassan Symphonic Band: Emma Green Percussion: Brodie Baker Jazz Band: Madison Stoermer Wind Ensemble: Caleb Cunningham

Positive Mental Attitude

Woodwinds: Kira Perkins Brass: Brodie Warren Symphonic Luke Perez Percussion: Patrick Falcone Jazz Ensemble: J. Mike Oshop Wind Ensemble: Angel Perez

STUDENT SUPERLATIVES

Most Improved Marcher: Alex Griswold Best Marcher: Jack Lankford Most Improved Musician: Gabriel Lee-Babbini Band Service Award: Rielly Harris Band Dedication Award: Rielly Harris Band Leadership Award: Angel Perez Freshman of the Year: Carlos Sobalvarro Sophomore of the Year: Janie Whitaker Junior of the Year: Keller Hosman Senior of the Year: Keegan Scott Most Energetic: Keller Hosman Sassiest: Patrick Falcone and Jayden Yang Best Shoulder to Cry On: Maia O'Brien and Rielly Harris Most Likely to Brighten Your Day: Caroline Smith Most Likely to be Practicing in the Band Room: Ben Vongsiharath Most Likely to be Sleeping in the Band Room: Rielly Harris

Most Likely to Become a Band Director: Rielly Harris Most Likely to Become President of the United States: Andrew Reed

Most Likely to Play Professional Sports: Emily Monson Most Likely to Cure Cancer: Mason Collins Most Likely to be on Social Media Right Now: Ella Cox Most Likely to Live Off the Grid: Andrew Reed Most Likely to be on a Reality Show: Ella Cox Best Friends Forever: Sofia Bonillo & Cierra Schmidt Best Bro-Mance: Keller Hosman & Joseph Rice Most Likely to be a Pro Gamer: Everett Whittington Best Dancer: Ella Cox Most Helpful: Madison Stoermer Most Instruments Played: Joseph Rice Best Band Mom: Maia O'Brien Best Crank: Jack Lankford, J. Mike Oshop, & Keegan Scott

Section Spirit Awards Suzi Martinez: Guard Madalyn Winningham: Flutes Keller Hosman: Clarinets Zach McBroom: Saxophones Jacob Sayers: Trumpets J. Mike Oshop: French Horns Rielly Harris: Trombones Allen Green: Euphoniums Brodie Warren: Tubas Patrick Falcone: Percussion